The Friday Rewind 2/21

After considerable delay, the Friday Rewind is back on the blog! For those of you who remember this MedSchoolDiary feature, here is the best and worst of what the week had to offer.

1. The Best of This Week

  • Feeling ultimate redemption knowing that my study methods do work and kicking ass on two exams. Ahh, it feels good to be back! All of that anatomy induced self-doubt has melted away.
  • The freedom that comes with completing two exams and not having another one for what seems like eternity (I think 3 weeks?!). This lets me get back to focusing on things that genuinely excite me– like spending time in the Emergency Department; taking on a new and exciting research project; reviving an old research project; finally getting around to finishing a case report I was working on; and generally spending less time cramming information and more time with my husband doing the things we enjoy so much together–like our infamous movie watching marathons.
  • The feeling of happiness that comes with walking into the hospital in my white coat with my stethoscope in my pocket and a badge that identifies me as part of the patient medical team. In early 2009 I had a moment of clarity. I was at Johns Hopkins Hospital about to see a world renowned cardiologist and as I walked through the doors of the hospital I wasn’t thinking about the medical condition I had to deal with. All I could think of was how much I wanted to be one of the doctors in their scrubs and white coat walking through the doors. They all looked so preoccupied. I imagined the patients they had on their minds  and the moment in my life when I might one day look like them. Every time I catch a glimpse of myself in my white coat or the way patients walking into the hospital look at me with that familiar look, a surge of excitement comes over me.
  • Generally any time I go into the hospital is the highlight of my week. No crazy milestones to report. Well, maybe just the mini-milestone that my ECG interpretation skills have nominally improved. ST elevation and STEMI protocol are no longer just foreign acronyms.

2. The Worst of This Week:

  • After 6 weeks of following doctor’s orders I still haven’t seen any improvement in my back. I tried to go jogging for the first time and the experiment failed miserably, sending me into excruciating pain. I am too busy to actually follow-up and see what the status of my herniated disc is. I guess I was hoping it would just go away. Not being able to run is a huge disappointment and has played a large part in my brief brush with apathy.

3. Medical Breakthroughs of the Week:

4. Just for Fun-The Friday Rewind Image Challenge 

What’s the diagnosis?

nejmcpc0902221_f1

a) Adenoid cystic carcinoma

b) Cat scratch disease

c) Infectious mononucleosis

d)  Sclerosing sialadenitis

e)  Systemic lupus erythematosus

* Courtesy of The New England Journal of Medicine

The Answer: Shown in the comments section.

1 Comment

Filed under Friday Rewind

One response to “The Friday Rewind 2/21

  1. The answer to the challenge is D.

    Chronic sclerosing sialadenitis is an inflammatory fibrosing condition of the salivary glands that can be bilateral and manifests as firm swelling of the involved gland. Carcinomas do not tend to be bilateral. The other listed conditions are not typically painful and do not disproportionally involve the submandibular glands.

Leave a Reply

