1st Break

I’ve been on vacation for exactly 14 days now. It’s amazing how quickly I’ve made the transformation from over-worked, dark-under-eye-circle concealing, one-track mind, med student zombie to a life of carefree leisure. I’ve been wearing make-up, blow drying my hair, going to the movies, not setting an alarm clock, seeing friends, spending precious time with my family, updating my closet and decorating our house. All things I forgot I seriously enjoyed. One could get used to this. For those of you not in medicine, the list above, taken for granted by most people reading this blog, are actually a rare luxury during medical training. Luckily, I have 4 more weeks before I start my next rotation. Sometimes working hard until an overdue, extra-long break is worth the sacrifice.

To catch my readers up on my life: Since I last wrote, I finished my pediatrics rotation. Tiny people patients are awesome. They are guaranteed to make you smile no matter what type of day you are having. I definitely enjoyed inpatient pediatrics more than clinic, but that is because I prefer acute medicine. Case in point, the time I enjoyed clinic the most was when we had to send one of our patients to the ED because they were too sick to be in our office. Identifying critical situations is kind of my thing…the thing I hope to do as a specialty.

I’ve completed 5 out of 8 rotations, with just a few more months of third year left. When I look back I can’t help but feel happy that I can put all that hard work behind me. It’s kind of like getting to mile 19 of a marathon, you’d be feeling pretty good you are there, but if someone told you there was a mistake and you need to re-run that distance–well you’d probably feel devastated to do it again.

After all that running, it feels great to hit pause. I need this time to soak in what I’ve learned and let my brain compartmentalize. To enjoy medicine. Funny enough, I still want to read, to do practice questions, even more than when I had to do them for the shelf exams. What can I say? Medicine is a deep-seated passion, even while on vacation.

Because I am not the type of person who can just leisure for too long, January is filled with exciting projects, including a research elective, supporting a dear friend’s campaign to provide girls education in the developing world, photography and spending a few days here and there in the emergency department. Not a bad way to start off the year!

I also turn 30 this month. So there is that. I’ll be celebrating with my best girlfriends of almost 20 years, doing a mini-road trip in Northern California.

Stay tuned. This month should be a good one.

1 Comment

Filed under Medical School Experience, Rotations

One response to “1st Break

  1. Enjoy your break! Good luck in med school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

