I’m Back, Let’s Recap (Step 2 board stuff)

To my amazing readers:

We really need to catch up! My last post left you somewhere near the end of third year. I was grinding out my last two rotations and feeling fairly uninspired. You see, it took all the reserve I had left to keep coming into clinic just as excited as my first day of rotations. I ended the year with ambulatory and family medicine. Two rotations that are classically considered “easy.” Working less than 40 hours a week, having weekends off and getting home by 5 pm was so foreign to me. Paradoxically, I tend to be less productive the more free time I have. A combination of a really long year and a lack of stress propelling me forward left me struggling internally to maintain my tireless enthusiasm. There was no sense of urgency. Even the medical cases were non-emergent. Well, I did have one blood glucose stick of 38 we had to call an ambulance for–and that was the most exciting thing that happened.  Needless to say, those two months dragged. I reconfirmed that my type of medicine is the worrisome kind–at least ruling it out.

I moved from one day being the last day of my rotation to the next day starting 4th year. I began the year with a Step 2 study block.

Board exams are basically the worst thing you ever have to do in medical school. Period. No matter how prepared you are, they are always terrible.  I tried to take away some lessons from my Step 1 experience–mainly that I needed to calm down, so I approached the 4 weeks I had to study much more relaxed this time. I was surprised I didn’t freak out once. Probably because I spent the last two days before the exam dancing around my living room. Doing the Dougie, even terribly, will kill all last minute nerves. Try it.

My study schedule consisted of waking up at 8 am, doing question blocks in Uworld, taking notes, reading my notes, and doing more questions, then going to bed around midnight just to wake up and do it all over again. I kept an excel spreadsheet and ended up doing about 2,900 practice questions. I also took three practice NBME exams. NBME number 4, 6 and 7. My actual score was within 2 points of NBME 4 and 6 and 18 points higher than NBME 7. (Don’t waste your time taking NBME 7 unless you are doing it just for additional practice questions.)

The exam itself was just as terrible as Step 1. 9 hours of answering questions leaves you feeling miserable and delirious. Even though I felt I totally failed, I did not sit and cry in my car this time, instead I took a celebratory selfie and moved on. I purposefully didn’t allow myself to think about the exam at all. If I felt my mind slipping back there I immediately redirected my thinking. This was because I actually thought I failed the exam. Only to find I did incredibly well. So just remember, feeling like you failed is inversely related to your score. The worse you feel, the better you did!

With that monstrosity behind me I FINALLY began what I have been waiting for: my Emergency Medicine rotations!!

Since I will be matching into EM, the beginning of my 4th year is filled with three, 1 month EM rotations: my home institution, a Kaiser hospital and a county program. Because EM deserves its very own blog post I will leave you here. All I will say is Emergency Medicine is awesome and any feeling of lassitude immediately dissipated the second I saw that neon Emergency Room sign. It is perfect for me.

13694628_270298463344371_1597828532_n(1)

Photo I took during my away EM rotation. Southern California.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Medical School Experience, Rotations

2 responses to “I’m Back, Let’s Recap (Step 2 board stuff)

  1. Congrats! I loved reading this post. Good luck this year!

Leave a Reply

